Gaétan Charbonneau's Photo Blog

PV – PERSPECTIVE VARIABLE

  • Gaétan Charbonneau on altpick.com
  • SUBSCRIBE TO MY BLOG!

    Join 9 other followers

  • coolphotoblogs my profile

The End

Posted by Gaétan Charbonneau on June 19, 2010

Four balls of paper/ represented by Millennium Images. All rights reserved, Gaétan Charbonneau ©
THE END OF CULTURAL DIFFERENCES, GRAPHICALLY SPEAKING THAT IS.
While I am not a statistical freak when it comes to my own work (I just shoot what I like, sorry for being so intuitive), an interesting stats emerged in regards to the images I license for the book cover market. Out of the last 10 jacket covers I licensed, 7 were licensed from a publisher based in Europe (with distribution also aimed for the European market).
It gets more interesting when I look at these numbers more closely since none of these 7 cover jackets were made from images I shoot in Europe. In fact, out of these 10 covers, only one was made in Europe (Madrid). Unless the story plot ask for a specific location, say, a night in Amsterdam, it is quite clear that an overly descriptive location can become an obstacle that can interfer negatively, in a world with a strong tendency to be more culturally unified.
It is something I always knew was happening, but to see it translated into statistical data neatly align on a graph relating to my own work is a bit of a revelation.
Adios all & happy world cup!
Leave a Reply

 
